Info on Kayaking

yeboants

Hi,

I'm new to brisbane and the forum and been pondering buying a fishing kayak.

first things first i need to do the needed research.

firstly.. i live close to brisbane cbd, are there good places to fish on a kayak within 2 hours drive from brisbane?

fresh and saltwater - latter preffered. trolling and softbaits mostly.

i'm 5'7" and weigh 70kgs, not the biggest bloke :-)

what type of kayak would I be looking for that would suit me?

i'm very much interested in fishing the open seas (backline waters) - but this will come with time once more experienced.

also.. more links to kayaks, kayak fishing and clubs would be grately appreciated..and anything i might have missed.

thanks in advance

anton

I'm only new to the sport, but it's awesome:cheer:

There are heaps of spots within 2hrs drive of the CBD. Nudgee Ck, Schultz Canal, Brisbane River, Bribie Passage, Bribie surfside, heaps of spots down around Jumpinpin. The list goes on:cheer:

Then for freshwater, there is Lake Wivenhoe, Somerset Dam, upper Stanly, Albert and Logan rivers.

Those are just ones off the top of my head, alot more around the place:)

I can't really help with the specific Kayak, but there are a few guys on here who will be able to. Alternatively, you could join Australian Kayakers Fishing Forum (AKFF.net).

Welcome to brisbane and the site, hope you enjoy it:cheer:

yeboants take a look at the hobie revolution. It's what I use, it's a great kayak. I'm 5'6" 68kg, I can stand up in the revo, so plenty of stability, and is pedal powered. only issue is cost - a bit under $2300 for stock model. Expensive, but well worth it. frees up your hands for casting, so good when in a current or wind. It's not a kayak if you're looking to get fit like some people, however by your size I'm doubting that's not really an issue. It's easy to go all day and travel long distnaces.

Within 2 hours of brisbane you have a phenominal amoutn of fishing available to you