Hello everyone

Hoops

Just introducing myself.

Names Leon and Ive recently emigrated from the UK (London).I havent fished for ages ,I used to be into course fishing and a bit of match.Once I've settled into things over here I'm deffinately going to chuck a line or two into the ocean and maybe the Brisbane river.I've never done any sea fishing before so I am completely clueless.:unsure:.

The Mrs has got me a gift voucher for 150 bucks for Super A mart sports..Will this be enough to get me a start up kit .Nothing fancy.Just probably something to chuck a lure or small bait off Bribie Island while Mrs and kids are messing about in the water...

Also do you need liscences to fish over here ..?/

Hoops

Great site by the way

Guest IcEkNiGhT

no licence needed to fish the beaches over here. altho im not 100% sure but some of the impoundments/dams. i think you might need licences. as for what rod reel to pick it really depends on if your fishing from beach or jettys. if it was me id probably pick an abu 6500 reel then match it to a rod.. but it really depends on personal preferance. some of the shimano combos arnt too bad for price and durability. but i have not bought any for quite sometime so i have no idear what they really got on the market at present. just stick to the well known brands and something to suit your needs and you cant really go wrong.

Mate you will get a reasonable combo from amart starting around half of your voucher amount, going up from there. I would not bother buying anything \"big brand name\" until you are sure on what type of fishing you want to do, and then only if you get really serious.

I'd start out with a 7 foot rod and spinning reel, some plastics, some long shank hooks, 8lb line, and see how you go from there.

Hey Hoops

Welcome to you and your family.