Beginner Fisherman Tag

MoparKevUk

I've been fishing for a couple of months now and have got invaluable advice here. When out and about and peeps have a yarn I tell them I am only a beginner fisherman, then sometimes proceed to out fish them. So when do I stop using this "beginner fisherman" tag? I've used poppers, hardbodies, soft plastics, big hooks, small hooks, floats, small/medium/large sinkers, no sinker, mullet gut, mullet strips, bread, prawns, white pilchard, squid, cheese twisties and steak. I now own 3 rods and 4 reels and I'm a BCF member. I've caught toadies, bream (25cm PB), whiting, a small catfish, various perch and a turtle and a crab pot. I've even bought a fishing mag! (For the free lure...). Once I've been out on a boat can I call meself a fisherman??? I presume I will never stop learning......

Just wittering away, please ignore me!!!:kiss:

Kev,

Always ask "how long you been fishing mate?" then you can say you are/are not as experienced as them. You can also learn a lot from newbies. Just change your wording to say you've only been into fishing a couple of months. Some days you will outfish,some you will be outfished. It doesn't matter as long as you are out there fishing and enjoying yourself

regards

Hulk

Hey PK,

It`s been awhile since we`ve posted together.

Well matey, you`ve caught fish,you`ve used mullet guts as bait, so you`ve definately smelt like a fisherman,your getting a fair amount of tackle & gear,so you must be a fisherman.

Your now in the next stage,it`s honeing your skills,

keep asking questions,keep trying new things you hear about,learn as much about the species you want to/or are most likely to catch.

From here on,it just gets better and more expensive.haha

Well done,cheers

Hi Pommy Kev

You're well on your way but you haven't mentioned ticking of the checklist the following;

* the late nights

* the early mornings

* the obligatory fishing in the cold,

* getting wet ar5e & no fish or

* the sand flies & mossies