local near city locations

garry

Garry,

I am a newbie myself and am interested in how the more experienced anglers would answer. From what I have read on the forums already there is:

Pinkenba - I went on Wednesday night with my step-son to try and catch a flattie. We didn't get any bites :( but were not there at the best time (bit before high tide) as I can't keep him up too late on a school nite.

Nudgee creek

Breakfast creek

Newstead

Newfarm

There are probably lots more and I couldn't tell you exactly where to set up.

A start for you anyhow I hope.

Cheeers,

Dyce

Guys it all comes down to what you're after.

Just to fish - anywhere in the river. Catfish galore, you might be lucky to catch a normal fish as well.

Edible fish - All the places you have listed have been doing well with the guys on this site.

West end has produced some magic for me before. Along the stretch where the industrial area is opposite Coro Drive. Or even under the story bridge has produced some bream, flathead, whiting and eels for me.

Mate those cover a lot of the local areas.

I would add to the list,

Oxley Creek

Bulimba Creek

Mouth of Norman Creek

Mobray park.

Kookaburra Park.

But seriously have a read through the fishing reports in \"All Brisbane Rivers & Creeks\".

Anytihng suggested by members here will be covered in reports in that section. And most likely with a lot more useful information.

Angus

Thanks guys.

Personally I am looking for flathead. We have caught a few up the coast but they have been too small. Nudgee creek might be my best bet ATM if I am going close to the city?

The bridge to fisherman's island is another good spot apparently??

This weekend we might go to Baroon dam I think it is called? as my step-son like's freshwater better as he reckons he always catches more.

Cheers,

Dyce

Mate Nudgee Creek, Kedron Brook Floodway and Shultz Canal.

Flahead are also everywhere in the Brisbane River.