first timer many questions

bulldogs195461

im a guy in my early 50s im pretty new to fishing love it,sometimes would love to stray from the banks,so if i was starting what would i need,would pedals be better than paddles etc,if i go ahead i would be looking for a cheaper yak second hand just to see if im into it.i cant swim but can get out of trouble,i would only be in riverss/estuaries on the goldy etc.some things i think reading your reports is ,it easy to cast out of a yak,do you feel comfortable if out for awhile,is it easy to get tipped out when the enevitable dickheads fly past etc.i like i could carry it easy on my ute and ive seen people put them in basically where they like,so thats ok.are there different sizes,ive got 2 boys who at times would probally like to try,another thing is how do you troll,?is it just at your paddling/peddle speed?is it with lures,?look thanks if anyone replies,i know ive put heaps on,even if someone can refer me to perhaps an apropriate article,regards john

i'm 48 and fat and have no probs with mine, never fallen out yet but had a couple of close calls

arse tends to get sore after a couple of hours and the hips stiffen up a bit so getting off it at the end of a session can be a bit wobbly.

if you cant swim get a good self inflating pfd and leash yourself to the yak

.i cant swim

Not trying to sound rude or disrespectful my friend but I'd look into some lessons first before leaving the river bank. Then if your after a cheaper yak to see if you like it first its going to have a paddle because a hobie with pedals will run you around the 15 hunge mark. I'd go an outlaw fish bandit , there weight rating is like 250kg and they are super stable, good for a beginner.

Best wishes

Jamie

I've never fallen out of mine... yet. lol.

You will get numb bum, I try to get out and have a stretch every couple of hours.