Braid

Richo80

Im a beginner i have always used mono line , was interested in maybe upgrading and purchasing braid to go on a lil spin outfit for throwing soft plastics etc. Using lil Berkley gulp plastics.

A few Questions

1: What weight braid should i purchase

2: what brand is suitable for a beginner using soft plastics

3: does it matter what colour i purchase , and what dom the different colours refer to , what are they used for , ta and also any other info that anyone might have in regards to this topic , much appreciated!

I concur Jeff.

When i started getting into fishing a bit more i started with 6lbs crystal fireline and found it to be pretty easy to handle and at a pretty decent price too.

Richo80 im not sure of how novice you are but ensure you buy some leader material, or even use a bit of mono as a leader. As it is well know that braid is highly visible underwater due to the way in which it is constructed.

Another thing that I find annoying with braid and leader is when fishing snaggy areas and looseing gear, I get sick to death of re-rigging leaders. So much so that I'm going to spool my spare spool with 6lb low steach mono.:dry:

My first braid was 6lb Sufix, I now use 6lb Nitlon PE and I think its a great braid. I belive useing braid in deep water is a must and would never go back to mono off shore.

Good luck mate.

Jayson

chubbstar wrote:

Another thing that I find annoying with braid and leader is when fishing snaggy areas and looseing gear, I get sick to death of re-rigging leaders. So much so that I'm going to spool my spare spool with 6lb low steach mono.:dry:

My first braid was 6lb Sufix, I now use 6lb Nitlon PE and I think its a great braid. I belive useing braid in deep water is a must and would never go back to mono off shore.

Good luck mate.

Jayson

Have you tried changing your knot Chubbs