Getting a bit close.....great white

webbfunk

Hulk: Please note, I'm not going to try and pretend I'm an expert on shark behaviour, and provide some gospel on what to do and what not to do. Listed below are a couple of things that I believe should have been done/not done in that situation, and why I believe that.

There's a number of things I believe they did wrong out there in the kayaks. One of the guys out there reckons they did all the right things, I disagree, but that's just me.

Firstly, Steve (Karnage from AKFF) aka the guy that "fell out" didn't fall out of his kayak. The shark gave it a good nudge to see if he was edible.

The shark apparently surfaced next to him, and then went behind him. At this point in time, the kayaker apparently started pedalling away from it as fast as possible. I believe this was a mistake. The shark quickly turned around and gave him a nudge/bump and flipped the kayak over.

Why do I believe that to be wrong? Well:

A Sharks prey moves away from a shark as fast as it can. If you have a large shark that's interested in seeing if you're a meal or not, you want to teach it pretty darn quickly that you're not its next feast. As such, I probably wouldn't be gunning it, instead I'd probably grab a paddle and push the shark away. I don't think this great white was in an agressive mood. If it was, one of those guys wouldn't have made it back in one piece. Or at least, they'd be a kayak less. Without searching the internet for a host of instances to support or discourage this practice, one kayaking incident comes to mind. Last year I believe it was, some woman in a kayak had a very similar experience to Steve. A great white circled the kayak, bumped her into the water. Unfortunately for this woman, I THINK (don't quote me on the biting part) she received a fairly (relatively) minor bite. She managed to poke the shark with a paddle and it buggered off.