New to surf fishing. is this rod fine for my first

jhedrick

Hey guys, I have never gone surf/beach fishing before and would really like to take it up. I have done pretty much every other type of fishing. I have a link below to a rod and reel combo will this be okay for a first rod? I dont want anything too expensive but just need something to get me into it.

/>http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/OSPREY-BIG-SURF-COMBO-3-9MTR-ROD-AND-7000-SIZE-REEL-/260726322101?pt=AU_FishingRods&hash=item3cb47ff3b5

If anyone has any tips on how to beach fish or what sort of rigs/baits i should use can you please help me? I am a complete noob to this style of fishing

Hey, mate....

Thought I'd give you my 2 cents worth:)

As far as beach fishing is concerned, any rod, will work.... just has to be long enough to get over and past the white water in close... As you know your looking to either gutters, (the main highways....usually running parallel to the beach)....holes or eddies..... ( smaller bodies of deep water).... and the use of rips,(for extra distance, from the cast/ and to aid in getting past sandbanks, into deeper eddies behind)...Personally, I find these are three main essentials... I'll look for when on the beach.....

When looking for gutters, you're looking for darker, smoother water....generally finding these between the first sand bank..... the white water at your feet, and a second sand bank....(The second wave break further out)... It's not uncommon to find multiple sandbanks either.... Ideally you'll find it's a good idea, to target one with an entry and exit channel into and out of, as predatory fish like to ambush their prey from the white water into the gutter, or cruise along it's length, with the onus on having the exit back out, as they themselves may need an

escape route if eyed by something bigger...