Watersnake for $300 at Amart

Feral

Just picked myself up a 54lb watersnake from Amart at Morayfield, Amart have them on sale starting today, $300 in their latest Catalog.

P1090138.jpg

Very happy with the price. If you want one, ring first, to make sure your chosen Amart has one.

Already rung Aaron to tell him about the sale. :)

P1090137.jpg

Don't know how well it will work with the 3/8\" chain I am going to attach it with though, after the last motor got pinched!

Can you get the electric motor to attach to the rear of the boat with a foot control?

My tinny is a 3m and has a 6hp. Can you have it at the rear with an outboard or would this not be practicle because the shaft of the electric motor would be protruding in the water when not in use. I only ask cause i dont think a 3m tinny would be stable enough to put it on the front. Or are the electrics not to heavy and would this be alright?

O.K. I am far from an expert, Feral and Ray are the ones to talk to.

Weight: The motors don't weigh much at all but the battery is the one to watch for. Some weigh 20 or 30kg.

Don't know how lbs converts to Hp but if you do a search on the forum about leccys there is heaps of info.

The only other thing I know is battery life. For a 54lb motor you will need at least a 100amp battery. A 54lb motor will use 54amp per hour if it is run at full power. A 100amp battery should give you 2 hours running time if the motor is run at full pace, more if you dont have it cranked up.

On top of the cost of the motor is.

Anderson plugs and wires $50 to $100

Battery 100amp $300

Battery Box $20

Battery Charger $150 to $300

So on top of the price of the motor it will cost around another $500 to $650 and thats if you install yourself.

Just my 2 cents.

Might be a good idea if Feral or Ray did an article for the site on leccys as lots of people have questions.;)

I answered you PM before seeing this thread, so there is a fair bit in that.