Condamine Cod

charlie.hans.fishing

Hi all.

In just a few days I'll be staying on a week-ish long trip in Killarney, and I'm interested in fishing for murray cod down there in the Condamine River. 

Since I have little experience freshwater fishing and/or fishing for murray cod, any advice would be appreciated! (lures, bait, locations, techniques, rigs, etc.)

Cheers Charlie

Live shrimp and live crayfish hooked once through the third last section of the tail. Big earthworms in a bunch on the hook. Simple running ball sinker with as light a sinker as you can get away with. 5/0 hook at least.

Cheese is recommended as dead bait - mozzarella holds onto the hook best apparently.  Don't bother with dead shrimp pr crays.

Shallow diving lures. StumpJumpers are good and proven cod catchers. No need to go too big in the smaller shallow creeks/rivers. Never caught one on a spinner bait but on one trip everyone caught one on spinner baits except me, so probably just me. Purple or natural colours.

Fish close to snags or on the deeper side of bends.

Best times for me have been after 3pm. Be quiet.

Maybe @KhalidMSyed could offer some tips - he's been getting a few down Canberra way this year.

31 minutes ago, ellicat said:

Live shrimp and live crayfish hooked once through the third last section of the tail. Big earthworms in a bunch on the hook. Simple running ball sinker with as light a sinker as you can get away with. 5/0 hook at least.

Cheese is recommended as dead bait - mozzarella holds onto the hook best apparently.  Don't bother with dead shrimp pr crays.

Shallow diving lures. StumpJumpers are good and proven cod catchers. No need to go too big in the smaller shallow creeks/rivers. Never caught one on a spinner bait but on one trip everyone caught one on spinner baits except me, so probably just me. Purple or natural colours.

Fish close to snags or on the deeper side of bends.

Best times for me have been after 3pm. Be quiet.