starting in yak fishing

Nossman

Hey fisherfolk...i'm fairly new to qld...well 3 years anyway(does that still qualify as being new?)...I am interested in yak fishing (some may say consumed). But really have no contacts to go fishing with. I have done my research and certainly am no stranger to fishing , but would like to get all the info , plus possible fishing mates to get involved in this style of fishing....so obviously the question is ? Can anyone help me out ?

Hey mate.

Sent you PM but will reply here as well.

First of all the obvious question... Do you have a yak yet?

Second of all. Yes we can deff help you out. There are quite a few yakkers here and we go out often. Last sunday for example we hit Bribie.

Best advice is to check out the "Going Fishing" thread. There are often posts in there by members organising meets etc. Often these are kayaking meets.

Also if your interested in something more organised in May there is a Kayak Camp at Hinze Dam I am organising. The primary target will be Bass with Yellas, Silvers and Saratoga also on offer.

Click the link in my footer to register for this event.

WElcome to the sport mate. Its great.

Angus

Thanks guys , really encouraging to get replies so quickly...i'll definately be taking onboard(excuse the pun) the advice , and no doubt you will be hearing more from me on this topic....Hopefully be meeting up with you in the future , as i'm very keen to get involved in this scene in brisbane...Originally i'm from tas (don't hold that against me) but we had a really lot of success with our trout fishing in this calibre.....

Nossman wrote: