Fishing from the Hornibrook Bridge

hux

Does anyone know about the good times to fish off the Hornibrook Bridge ? My kids like going there but we have had mixed results with catching anything. We have been trying the incomming tide in the early morning, have not tried the outgoing tides yet. I am a bit of a novice.

I used to fish there a lot when i was a teenager, so like 6 years ago.

I always found it eratic regardless of planning. Like one day you could get lots of fish in technically bad conditions, and the next day same time, tide etc clean up.

One fish i found to be consistant was whiting on blood or beach worms.

Another successful method was to float an unweighted pilly or white bait down the current (whichever way it was going). This would often result in Taylor, Trevally and if it drifted towards the channel edge the occasional Flathead. The method worked in the channel where the bridge rises a little bit.

If i went there with the knowledge i have aqquired over the last year from this site, i would arm myself with some soft plastics and hard bodies lures and try both the sand bank drop offs for Flathead, and the pilons for bream and whatever else might be lurking.

There have always been good numbers of bull sharks in the channel as well. A wire trace and a live mullet on some heavier line might also be a good option. I would prob just set this and leave it with the drag loose while i fished for other things.

Good luck!

Angus

Thats the one. There are two bridges side by side, the old one is now closed to cars and has become a footbridge, the new one is for cars only. Most people seem to fish in the channels at the Northern end of the footbridge.

Our blokes spent 6 months there drilling for the new bridges, they reckon bugger all fish there, got a few bream that is that.

When they drilled for the new gateway, they used to come in every friday arvo with all the pictures of the cod and squire they had caught that week!