Local Waters

Smithy

23/10/09

Morning Snapper Trip

Rob from Toowoomba wanted to chase flathead in the river but I am not an expert at bait in the estuaries, mostly lures but from small boats so I talked them into soft plasticing for snapper in close as they were worried about getting seasick. I would dearly love a little boat in survey for these sort of enquiries and for doing charters on windy days but repowering the Stabi and keeping the trailer on the road are my priorities at the moment. We pulled up and not 10minutes into fishing he was pretty sick so I ran him, his mum and son back in. At least we got to see some whales up close.

22/10/09

Graeme Full Day Trip

Ray and Shania were shouting Graeme a full day offshore for his 40th birthday today. This was our second attempt to get out due to weather but it was a couple of weeks too late it would seem. The fishing was tough and the current had moved in. Coming off the back side of a new moon is always my worst week of the month and throw in a NW wind and it was far from ideal for getting onto fish.

We started off soft plasticing with Graeme landing one squire on his home built rod to christen it. Everyone missed a couple of bites each and a few small fish were released.

We kept moving wider and wider, loading up on live bait on the way. Ray ended up being the gun for the day landing a cobia, some trag and some pearl perch. Don't know whether it was because he was the one on the mono line or not or if it was just his day. Shania also picked up a pearly on the floater but the current was racing and each drop we were only 20seconds in the strike zone and it was unfishable at anchor. At least the weather was as flat as a tack.

21/10/09

Jason Peart Full Day Trip