chicken gut as bait?

curranboy99

Hello. I have a couple questions about using chicken gut as bait for bream.

1. does this bait work and how would I rig it

2. how much does this bait stink, I read that after an hour in the sun it turns foul and gets the gagging reflex going (not that I would leave any of my baits in the sun)

3. is it better than prawns or flesh baits

I am far from an expert mate, but I use chicken breast off cuts that are scraps from when the missus prepares chicken breast for tea. I've asked her to cut them into thin strips about 6cm long x 1cm wide with the fat left on as bream love it. I freeze them in small snap locks and just take one or two packs with us when we go fishing for bream.

We have found that they are very keen on it most of the time....but there are always the odd day they won't seem to touch it and they prefer peeled prawns or something else.

Best thing about it is that it doesn't stink when it's in the sun warming up....but a word of warning....wash your hands first if you want to start snacking as there is a lot of bacteria in chicken that becomes a lot more harmful when it warms up.

Also is a lot more pleasant to put on a hook than chicken gut or mullet gut etc.

But that's just my opinion.

Cheers

Rob

Used to be a chook abattoir in a side street off old cleveland road at Belmont.

They used to place all their guts etc in 44s at the gate. Trick was to turn up before 10am  before everything went off.

legs and necks for crab bait.and dog food.

Softs and cracked (eggs) for eating.

Cracked eggs for immediate eating/cooking and we used to rub a product called keepeg on the softs and that would preserve them for 6 months.

gizzards ( hearts,livers and stomachs) for bait.,and soup(Mates also made pate)Fried hearts are very tasty.

intestines for bait. Strip it out salt and freeze great bream bait and being salted very tough and withstands pickers.