Fraser Island / Hervey Bay 17th-22nd

AlsHilux

G'day guys,

Just got back from a stint at hervey bay, I had almost forgotten what a holiday was like.

So Thursday evening packed up the luxy, loaded the rods and tackle in and took a nice leisurely 3 and a half hour drive north.

Friday morning the decision was made to jump on the Kingfisher Bay ferry for a spot of fishing off the fraser pier fishing. (I've been holding out to get back to this pier for the last 5 months when I was there last as I had seen some monster mackarel and tuna free swimming just around the pylons but I couldn't even catch a cold.) So we hit the decks at about 9.30am expecting high tide somewhere around 11am (we didn't check) and all was pretty quiet for the first couple of hours with my mate benno catching a medium sized stingray, a nice bream, a little flattie and frasers local favourite, a decent sized happy moment. We were just cracking fresh brews after a slow half an hour when I heard the ratchet on my overhead going wild. Hoping for the best in the spot where my pillie had been I started to fight this thing around the jetty for about 5 mins until I got it close enough to the side of the jetty for old mate to grab it. My first ever mackarel.. stoked! Although she was barely legal (50.5cm) to the fork, I was happy and we all had school mackarel with butter and garlic for dinner, with a side serve of bream and mowong donated by a local.