advice please. on new boat floor.

myself62

i am planning to put a new floor in my boat, i have recently bought it second hand, the floor seems to be a little to low to me. its a stesco 3.7 tinnie with a 15 on the back.

should the floor be level with the bottom of the seats? if anyone has advice on the best setup or even photos it would be apreciated.

i know that differant people like differant set ups, but i would like a starting point.

thanks.

Bruno.

Hey mate I am no expert but what the old man does in his boat is has the floor level with the bottom of the seats...he uses pvc pipe with 45 degree angles and t-joints etc to support the timber and then it is flush with the bottom of the seat and then just some sought of seating onto the bench seats to give you that little bit of height so your knees aren't around your ears....like I said no expert but hope this helps you anyway.

get hold of some u section aluminium that drops neatly over the cross bracing that runs across the bottom of the boat. Cut some lengths of the u section to go across the floor at the height you want the floor. Add a couple of upright supports in the centre and rivet it all together. Depending on how far appart the bracing is in your boat will determine what thickness ply you will need. About 15mm should do it. Apply some sort of protection to the ply like resin or a sealant. Glue your carpet down with contact adhesive so it wraps around underneath the floor and screw it into place.

If you think you have got it right take out the ply and get the floor supports welded in.

Terry

hey guys,