Advice: Light rod & reel? 1-3kg/1500-2000

wint0nlc

I've been really getting into fishing of late, i thoroughly enjoy going to stores. But once i get there i start to get real confused as to what i actually came there for. I think its a culmination of all the possibilities that are out there and also all the little goodies that are available to purchase. I always seem to come out with the wrong things in my hands!

So i do realise this topic has been brought up before and i have done a little bit of research on my own behalf and i have narrowed it down to what specifications i prefer but being a novice i am not quite sure which brand/model to get.

What i really would like is a 1-3kg 1 piece rod and a 1500 - 2000 size reel. Some rod and reel that will match each other quite well

As obvious as it may be, id like to use this rod/reel combo for learning how to use small HBs and SPs. I have some 3lb fireline i'll use with it.

A few questions if they could be answered. I am thinking the difference between a split but rod and just a standard one? i do like the idea of a split butt rod they do look like they would be suitable for this application? and i currently have a graphite rod for my BC setup, should i also be looking for a graphite rod for my spinning application?

I am really just looking for something which is going to give me a bit of fun with the fight feeling like im battling a titan when really i have only hooked up a little one. That's all im capable of enticing with my skills at the moment lol

As a guide i am looking at about the $300 for both rod and reel, see if you could shed some light on whether it would better spending more on reel or on the rod or vice versa. Sorry for the long post i am just full of questions.

Thanks in advance i really do wish to get this sorted out and get a line in the water

Perhaps look at 1000-1500 size reels for a rod that light.

In my opinion you're better off spending more on a reel than a rod.