G'day

Coconutdog

Welcome to the forum Matt.

Done 7 years in Rocky, fished all that country mostly army training area

you could drive all up ther in the 70's.Was no roads then only bush tracks

Used to take most of the day to get from byfield to 5 Rocks and winch most of that.

All changed now, I'd get lost there now.

Look forward to your reports.

Thanks ellicat, will be asking many questions. I'm a bit of a newbie and haven't been fishing for many years. My rod is ancient but I bought a new reel recently at a BCF sale. Still need to get line and tackle though. I'm not too sure what I'll need in this department. Some of the talk of lures etc on here and other places is a bit cryptic but I'm sure I'll pick it up with reading & research. Couldn't be worse than some of the acronyms that Defence comes up with.

I think it was a Prymil Zephyr 4000. On special at BCF. It's packed away in a box ready for the move. Only a basic reel but should be good for starters. I've also got a Sportfisher BoatRiot FPS-20 rod which someone gave me about twenty years ago. There have been plenty of for sales on the Yeppoon/Rocky FaceBuy site so I'll keep my eyes open there.

Can you suggest a line & lure setup for flathead?

Matt.

Hi Matt