Newbie here, tips and advice most welcomed :)

reefbreak

hi

firstly i would like to say a big hello, im new to the forum and indeed will be in the Brisbane area (St lucia) from dec-april. Im moving over from the UK where i do a large amount of artificial lure fishing for Pike and Perch a.k.a Redfin.

I will be within castnig distance of the brisbane river so need as much advice as possible so that i bring the correct tackle over as with only 20kgs of luggage allowed i cant afford to make a mistake.

So any information and tips would be great.

thanks

p.s. i am also going to "reward" myself with a deep sea charter and i would love to try my hand at cathing trevally's, is this something that can be done in Brisbane or do i need to go further north...Thanks again

thanks for that

any info on good charters in the area that i could get look into or indeed party boats (in the Uk (just incase it is different in Oz) a party boat is one where there are like anywhere from 6-20 people on board each with a rod/reel etc normally going for bottom/reef species)

thanks again

Hey Reef Break

If you are doing the majority of your fishing in the Brisbane river from the land, rod wise you can use anything from a ultra light rod to a medium heavy casting setup.

I personally use a medium setup 2 piece spinning rod, with 20lb braid and depending what I fish for between 12lb - 40lb leader with a daiwa exceller 3000 spinning reel.

Looking to get a lighter setup too (always nice to have options :) )

Lots of Bream in the river which are fun to catch on a light setup. Or you can target Threadfin which require a heavier setup. Either way there are plenty of fishing stores here where you can update or upgrade your gear to suit your needs of the river.

The only charter I have done here is up at Hamilton Island on the GBR where we targeted Spanish Mackeral and Giant Trevally's. Massive fighters those GT's. Well worth a trip up to the Island and a great tourist destination.