Damn... What a day, I'm still gutted but getting over it..

kitacooch

Ok, now I had an event full day on the water this past Sunday, I'm not sure if I am the unluckiest bugger or this sort of thing happens more often than it should on these beautiful weekend days on the water....

Now as I am relatively new to fishing outside please tell me if I did something wrong, or didn't do something I should have??

It all started out on the bait reef off the sand pumping jetty around 630-7am, it was quite busy when all of a sudden we started pulling up half baits, so I take a look on the sounder and see some big marks and consequently I drop a livey back over to see what happens. Well after about 10min off she goes and once I put some decent weight on well dear god hang on I'v hooked a steam train lol. I loose 200m in like 2 mins and so with great difficulty (considering my offsider is only 7yrs old) I take off after it to get some line back and also get off the bait reef and away from all the boats. Well some 15min later the fish surfaces some 100m away and splashes about just as a boat turns up and so at my disgust and disbelief he decides to head over for a look, I start yelling and waving at him to move off but it's too late he runs over my line and gets hooked up on the motor. Well a couple of very painful minutes later they manage to get free and move out of the way and so the fight continues but stuff me he starts drifting back so I'm yelling again only to hear "where the hell do you want me to go" and so gets hooked up yet again and to add insult to injury his passenger grabs a net and starts pushing and poking my line until well you can guess what happened. I'm so livered and considering I have a 7yr old on board I just spit it and motor off on disgust.