Question For Reel Guru's

ggg

Hi all,

As some may know, I use a Penn International 975 for reef fishing. It's a solid reel and paired to my Wilson Live Fibre, makes a good reef combo. I would like to increase the max drag though as the reel can only pump out about 5-6kg of drag. Is there any way I can re-engineer my reel to do this. I am confident in pulling apart reels and have serviced many reels. Could adding extra tension washers under the star drag do anything? I am not experienced in increasing a reels drag so am new to this. The washers are already good quality (HT-100) and I grease all my washers.

HT-100 drag washers are among the best and a change to carbonite washers most likely won't be worth the bother and probably will not give too much or any increase in drag. Changing to a new reel with decent drag to start off with is probably the  easiest way to get extra drag, I know what you mean about keeping and using a reel for sentimental value. I think most of us have that issue and keep and old reel or two for that reason, but it is a bit harder for you as that one is a small casting reel, if it was just for reef fishing and a little bit of casting then there are heaps out there.  Have a look at the Penn Fathom  FTH15LD or FTH15LD2 they do 9Kg and the FTH25LD2 has 15Kg  drag and all are lever drag and ally body and under the $270 mark.

A few years ago I picked up an Okuma Solterra SLR-10CS for not much money, mine was the lever drag, open top version and had the magnetic casting control on it, and did about 22lb drag, it had a graphite body, the new ones (SLX) don't have the magnetic cast control on them though, but for boat fishing I prefer the compact Fathom 2 speeds.

Come on, you know you want a new reel!😀😀

You could always sell it off and put the money towards another one with more drag which would suit you more, but having said that, your sentimental attachment to this reel would prevent you from doing that.