Hi Folks :)

olek

Hi all. Just moved to Australia, from Vancouver BC (Canada). Just getting settled in.

Love to fish and hunt and do all type of outdoor stuff such as camping and 4x4-ing...

Glad to have found this site, i am a total newbie when it comes to Australias fish and fishing methods but i think i will do ok.

Last few years I fished mostly for salmon, usually spring (chinook), coho & pink. Also did some fishing for sturgeon which in Canada are catch and release only since they are threatened, well regardless i do have experience in all sorts of fish sizes so i would love to go shark fishing.. ha ha.. getting all my gear here shipped for xmas so until then i will watch from the sidelines and hope to read up and learn things on this forum.

Thanks for reading this

Alex

p.s. I live in new farm, close to the river, is there any chance of catching a fish there?

Hey mate. Welcome to the site and to Australia!

You sure can catch good fish around there. brisbanebound another recent addition to both our country and this site has been catching jewfish, bream, snapper and cod from right near you. Other potential species include the famous threadfin salmon.

Have a good look through the reports in the "All Brisbane Rivers & Creeks" section and I think youll be surprised whats there.

Oh there is also the potential for plenty of sharks along that stretch of the river.

Cheers.

Angus

Wow.. well that would be real nice. The funny thing is, and i am hoping this is correct, that i could not find any info in regards to fishing licenses on a government site...

so i asked people and they all told me, 'no license required'... which is just WOW...