SOME VERY BASIC QUESTIONS

Jimstlucia

I'm new to Brisbane and new to the site. Background is inland NSW waters..Barwon and Gwydir rivers. I now live in St Lucia. Is it worth throwing a line in at Kayes Rocks, Toowong or under the Indooroopilly Bridge?

What bait? What am I likely to catch? Someone said Bullsharks!

Also, why are forkytailed catfish despised? Are they inedible? Freshwater eel-tailed catfish are great to eat. Just curious. Thanks, Jim

Brisbane River catties are not your freshwater variety. They have a terrible coat of slime on them that makes skinning and cleaning difficult. I have eaten them from cleaner waters (Wivanhoe), and they alright to eat. However another point is that their rib cage extends so fat down their body that even a 2.5kg specimen gets a small whiting size fillet.

Sharks, Catfish, Bream and possibly salmon would all be possible from Kayes Rocks. I have often thought about fishing there myself when i lived in Toowong. To avoid catching to much vermin and maximise your chances at a Salmon or something else of quality (cod, jew etc), try and use live baits. I prefer mullet, prawns and herring. Fishing the river you will find learning to use a cast net invaluable.

As for indooroopilly bridge, i have heard a few bullies caught here. But mostly catfish. Still good for a bit of fun.

Angus

• 3 months later...

Howdy St Lucia Jim,

I'm new here but I've been fishing along the river at St Lucia for quite some time and 90% of the time you'll get catties. Big fat catties around full moon at that! My biggest was a 44cm. But that was minute compared to another that I ALMOST hooked up. I spent a good 5mins fighting with my el cheapo rod and a 16lbs Kamikaze line (from ebay) and #4 hook with squid as bait.

I thought I had a stingray coz of the force the cattie exerted. I managed to see its head and it was prob twice the size of the one in the picture. Pity the line snapped... :( But hell yeah, they big cats put up a damn good fight!