to braid or not to braid?

zeppelin

Hi, Im curious about braided line...i heard a lot of people say that its the best line you can have (and costs a pretty penny) and you can feel absolutely everything that comes in contact with your bait etc...but i also hear that if you get a snag that its straining power is poor?

i'm only new to braid, i find it great but only using it for my hd's and sp's.

still using mono for bait.

i have got it snagged many time snow and if it brakes its on my joint knot.the braid to mono leader.

this far i have got all my lures back and with the mono still attached i find they easy to get back.

i tried flicking sp's and hb's around on mono before i got braid ,it sucked on mono .got the braid and wow.

Two different line types for different applications. Some fishing is better done with mono. A lot of blokes troll with mono because of the stretch factor.

Braid is suitable for lure work because of the sensitivity, because it doesn't stretch much you can impart a much better action on your lures, and you feel every nibble which means your strikes are more effective.

But if I was going down to the beach and tossing in a bait I'd probably use good mono.

It wears better on rocks, it's cheaper and it doesn't cut the hell out of your fingers if you grab it.

For lure work it braid all the way for me.

Hi bigtez, the fishing I plan to do is just some reef fishing off Tangalooma hopefully try and pick up some snapper or trevers. The only problem is I dont want to buy reels of the stuff (as its pretty exy), get a big fish on the line...let the fish run and let out a good amount of line, then wham...the line snaps from too much strain or the fish hides in the reef and he rubs it against the reef.

Once you try braid, you will never go back (unless trolling as posted above)

Trust me on this, coming from a person that posted the exact same question on this site several years ago.....