Cast Net

Bood

Hey brains trust...

im trying to master the art Of throwing a cast net without falling in the river myself..... no matter what I try it never seems to want to open up into a circle only a weird straight line.... I’m tryin and trying and then I see some young teenager rock up and throw a bigger net and get the biggest circle I’ve ever seen.... 

frim the description I’ve given of how my net sits can anyone explain wtf I’m doing wrong I’ve attached a dodgey drawing and the red line is what my net does or it twists up completely 🤷🏼‍♂️🤷🏼‍♂️🤷🏼‍♂️🤷🏼‍♂️🤷🏼‍♂️

59F71E64-0B64-431C-A6C4-8929A03CC3FE.jpeg

G’day Bood

I’ll film a video of me doing it tomorrow if I have time from school. Dad can get a pretty big spread with this method, but I’m still learning to throw the ten footer and getting stronger. Lol. 

Otherwise, it’s practise, practise, practise. Watch different YouTube videos too, and see if there might be a different method for you. And experiment with the way you throw it - I don’t know what method you use, but try having more of the net in one hand, less in one, more of a flick, etc.

Cheers Hamish

43 minutes ago, AUS-BNE-FISHO said:

G’day Bood

I’ll film a video of me doing it tomorrow if I have time from school. Dad can get a pretty big spread with this method, but I’m still learning to throw the ten footer and getting stronger. Lol. 

Otherwise, it’s practise, practise, practise. Watch different YouTube videos too, and see if there might be a different method for you. And experiment with the way you throw it - I don’t know what method you use, but try having more of the net in one hand, less in one, more of a flick, etc.

Cheers Hamish

yeah sweet where do u practice? creek or back yard

It’s all about practise. Start in a local park and try to get circles on the grass. Easier to practise and added bonus u don’t get wet. From what you are saying you are getting what we often call a banana throw.