Which 4x4

Englander

mate as a mechanic i recommend toyota's 4x4 (hilux.land cruiser etc) except import surf 4runner as known problem with number 3 cylinder problem resulting in new motor required and with deisels that big dollars.

mitsubishi triton and pajero preform quite well

have had auto trouble on the older model though

nissan patrols are bloody tuff units in the serious off road stuff. but generally more expensive

one thing to remember with diesels look for a good service history - they need oil change every 5000klms to stop sludge build up and good diesel oil with good detergents to break down sludge that might build up

cause of the stress of high compression they are very sensitive to oil condition. also airfilter and diesel filter every 15,000klm is best.

on the turbo's good thing to have but very expensive to repair or replace just a reseal can set you back a thousand no worries. i recommend you have it inspected before buying any vehicle and will generally cost about $50 at most garages

good luck and any q's just ask me

cheers

p.s any one having car dramas and has questions just pm me and will do my best to help you out

• 3 weeks later...

Now i may get laughed at for this, but here it is anyway. The best 4wd ive been camping in so far is the susuki sierra. Not big and manly i knw, but they,re light and fast. And you'd have to be a complete tool to get bogged! They're not that expensive to buy, not bad on fuel and are heaps of fun on the sand. A few of my mates swear by them.

Of course if your wanting to big stuff, or have a family to tag along, maybe not so great. If i hadnt been given an old jackaroo to do up, i'd probably have grab a sierra for my beach bashing/camping time for Moreton etc.

Depends on what you want to use it for i guess!

Post edited by: webmaster, at: 2007/06/01 22:06

new brake pads and rotors in the front, new brake lines, hub seal kit on the front passenger, adjusted handbrake... $600 in parts, $650 in labour...