Really basic fishing question

Liquor Box

Bait presentation is very important, so i have a really stupid question.

What is the best way to place a prawn on a hook?

I usually take off the head and thread it onto the hook so there is just a little bit of the hook poking out the underside of the prawn. Is this the best way?

If anyone gets really bored and wants to post a picture of how they present bait it would be very much appreciated as it is quite hard to learn.

I am the only real fishing person in my family and friends so are self taught and dont yet know all the little things, i just like to have fun.

Thanks

ps tips on other baits with photos would be awesome

Yeah that will work fine.

Other methods include -

Peeling the prawn first.

tail hooking 2 or 3 prawns to present a bigger bait.

Long shank hooks are by far the best for using with prawns in my experience.

Best method of all is get a cast net and catch some live prawns - then tail hook one and hang on.

Mate there is no such thing as stupid question because only a bloody idiot thinks he knows everything.

Cheers

James

Liquor Box wrote:

I usually take off the head and thread it onto the hook so there is just a little bit of the hook poking out the underside of the prawn. Is this the best way?

If anyone gets really bored and wants to post a picture of how they present bait it would be very much appreciated as it is quite hard to learn.

I am the only real fishing person in my family and friends so are self taught and dont yet know all the little things, i just like to have fun.

Thanks

Hey buddy,

This a wonderful site! The pics are a lil under-exposed at times though. It's got a variation of prawn hooking and it definitely looks better than the usual way of doing it. Click here

Happy Fishing

Thanks, great link.

viperon1982 wrote:

Liquor Box wrote:

Thanks

Hey buddy,