Custom Built esky: for boats

Ash

In what sort of way do you mean 'custom'?

There was a great esky on here last week for $100 that was coldroom material built or are you thinking of an esky with pedestal seat on top or the like?

There is this place http://www.boatbox.com.au/ or I found a guy who worked out of Forest Lake too. I thought that was his website but it must be something similar.

I sold a coldroom one to cando last week. Have a look in the for sale section "massive esky" there are a couple of photos that might give you an idea on how to build one. The main expense/difficulty is getting your hands on the panels.

The other option is fibreglass. I dont know much about building one but my brother has made a couple. Im not sure how hard it is but i can ask him for you. He is a boat builder by trade though so he had all the tools readily available.

yeah i want it to be fixed to the boat. Not looking for standrad esky shape. More like a rectangle standing on its end. And with a cushion on top for seating. Looking at maybe 80high x 40wide x 40depth sort of shape.

I'll check out that website thanks booty

have a look at the poly esky they hold ice very well you should be able to get one close not as tall as you would like maybe mount it on a set of draws for tackle underneath :unsure:

i know with fiberglass there is a couple of different types of foam available as the resin eats polystyrene so you need to use the foam they make surfboards out of or ive seen people paint polystyrene with a heap of waterbased house paint then glass over it good way to save a few bucks if your cheap like me:laugh:

Bommie wrote:

have a look at the techni-ice website, my dad got one from them for xmas and it is great, and good price too

/>http://www.techniice.com/english/iceboxes.asp

check out the 1100 ltr one:laugh:

Thats the new version of a poly craft just add an out board :P

Me personally would not have another cold room style esky.(Especially in the boat.