Fishing at night

polyphonic

O.K. Awoonga is only a few weeks away and I'm planning on doing some fishing in the small hours.

I have done no fishing at night with the boat. I have the led head lamps and the good old dolphin torch from my land based days.

Will the dolphin be enough to see where I'm going or am I better off getting a portable spot light like the use for hunting?

Just thinking of driving around in the dark in unfamilar waters.

Mate depending on the moon phase, you may be better off with no spottie etc. I find your night vision kicks in well enough most times, and having a light tends to make it harder to see. Im mean u can see directly infront of you, or where ever you point your light, but you cant see squat outside that beam. Not to mention the possibility of blinding oncoming boaters too! I take a dolphin for landing the fish, or if im edging in towards snags, but thats it.

It's scary going out for the first time in the dark. I'm still new to this type of fishing but this is what I've been told.

Fish you're intended night spot during the day a couple of times first to get an idea of the area.

When traveling you're boat speed should be just on plaining.

I dont go to far out because at night the beacon lights blend into the shore lights and makes navigation very difficult.

The best thing you can have is a GPS to help with this problem.

Oh and guys I was told that red lights in you're boat are better than normal white/blue. The red spectrum disapates into the night faster, Dont spook the fish as easy.

As I said I'm new to night fishing so I'll be keeping an eye on this post for more tips also.

Hope this helps poly

Depends on alot of things some already mentioned

Re: Spotlight If going into open water with no marks a spotlight is useless

If in a river or close to banks of a dam I'd certainly pack one to help find suitable snags and for safety avoiding hazards