Magic Day On The Bay

benno573

It was a great day on the Bay. Plenty of action to keep us motivated and a healthy esky for a busy day. @AUS-BNE-FISHO, we had a mix of plastics and quality bait (prawns, mullet, squid, pilchards from Mr Bait) and some leftover cast net scrap that @benno573 had lying around. Had the cod last night and it was delicious as usual.

I headed out to mud from manly on Saturday after a detour from rous to try and get onto some whiting. After Nothing but grinners and baby grasslip we legged it to mud around 9am to try our luck. We were using squid, fishing 8-12m but got mostly small pickers. 3 tuskfish, 1 legal and 2 let go just under. Back at the ramp around 2pm where it was busy but not a long wait. Any tips on avoiding the pickers at mud?

7 hours ago, Hweebe said:

Any tips on avoiding the pickers at mud?

Hey Hweebe

Sorry, I'm no expert but in general some ways could be - 

Use lures - They'll last longer and can be eaten by pickers and larger fish

Live Bait - In my experience, I've only ever had larger fish on larger live baits

Big Baits - Maybe use some bigger/different baits. 

Hope that helped, 

Cheers Hamish 🙂 

1 hour ago, AUS-BNE-FISHO said:

Live Bait - In my experience, I've only ever had larger fish on larger live baits

Would love to use live baits but still new to fishing moreton bay, any bait grounds from Manly to mud?

If i get on to some small winteries I know this is gun live bait. But would be good to find herring or yakkas. Outside of the beacons, I'm not sure where i can sabiki herring or yakkas for livies.

Anyone tried grinners either live or as cut bait?

2 hours ago, Hweebe said:

Would love to use live baits but still new to fishing moreton bay, any bait grounds from Manly to mud?

If i get on to some small winteries I know this is gun live bait. But would be good to find herring or yakkas. Outside of the beacons, I'm not sure where i can sabiki herring or yakkas for livies.